Blue suitcase and padlock

Challenging Yourself With A Photography Project


Due to circumstances outside my control I have had to suspend these projects. I intend to restart them at some point in the future. The posts and galleries will remain here in the meantime.

I saw an article about photo projects on picturecorrect.com via twitter which got me thinking about why people undertake such challenges.

I found the article interesting and it certainly had me asking how I would interpret a defined project.

It’s easy for us to go out and regularly make images of the things we enjoy, probably because we are in the comfort zone of subject familiarity.

I was intrigued to see if having a defined remit would affect my approach. So I decided to have a go, well actually, I finally decided on three projects.

I thought I would set myself a weekly project, a monthly project and a long term project.

The weekly project is a bit of a cliche and done to death but so what.

Its called ‘Colour’ – one day a week I will go out and look for subjects of a particular colour chosen on that day by a member of the family. I decided the colour has to be chosen by someone else and on the day to prevent any temptation of pre-planning.

My daughter decided she wanted to go on a train ride so it seemed natural to use this opportunity as day one. I asked her for a colour and she chose blue, so there you go, it was time to look for all things blue on our trip.

“It’s easy for us to go out and regularly make images of the things we enjoy, probably because we are in the comfort zone of subject familiarity.”

Blue suitcase and padlock

Blue suitcase and padlock

I found literally hundreds of blue things. Crucially, turning that random blue object into an image worthy of giving a second glance was extremely interesting to say the least.

So how did it go? Well, no surprises, it WAS a challenge.

First of all I found I was paying far more attention to my surroundings than I usually do.

Does that mean I am a lazy photographer or does it highlight that I had previously only used a remit of simply ‘seeing whats about’ which in turn meant I wasnt seeing as much as I could or should have seen?

Secondly I found literally hundreds of blue things. Crucially, turning that random blue object into an image worthy of giving a second glance was extremely interesting to say the least.

An unexpected and extremely pleasant surprise also occurred – my daughter was just as keen in finding obscure blue things. We had an absolute blast – not that we don’t usually, but this time with both of us having a focus, it became more than just the usual pleasant walk taking photos.

I can confidently confirm, that for me, having a defined remit definitely sharpened my eye, forced me to look at everyday objects differently and provided many ‘how on earth do I frame this moments’. More importantly it made the process a lot more enjoyable and rewarding.

For my monthly project called ‘1st of the month’ I am setting myself the task of capturing a place on the – wait for it – 1st of every month! I know, don’t say anything, I am a genius lol! I have until Monday to actually define ‘where’ that place is.

The longer project is more of a study into an everyday facet of daily life in the modern age. I haven’t fully defined the remit yet – I have a number of ideas going around my head that are slowly forming something.

Anyway I am glad I came across that article as it has prompted me to actually do something I have thought about for a long time. I enjoyed the first outing and am looking forward to next weeks ‘colour day’.

So, do any of you guys have a project you are working on? Care to share it with me – I’d love to see what other ideas people have and hear the resultant lessons learned.

Anyway, thanks for reading, I hope I might have inspired someone to take the plunge and set themselves a photo project or challenge.

Cheers for Now

Gary

2 thoughts on “Challenging Yourself With A Photography Project

  1. I started such a project. But it is a challenge to take a picture every day that is not only simply snapped.
    I started with it in order to force myself to get to know my camera and train my eyes again.Thanks for stopping by and following 🙂

    • I very much agree. I wanted to challenge myself to look at things differently. I have struggled with the weekly challenge and wouldnt dream of undertaking a daily project. My biggest fear would be as you say, just snapping something for the sake of it. Thanks for dropping by and commenting

Fire away below and let me know what you think ......

