Class 50 Diesel loco 50025 Invincible in the snow at Plymouth Station

Old Scanned Photos – Trains


I recently posted about coming across a box of old photo albums and starting to scan them into my computer.

This selection covers some old train photos from my mis-spent youth travelling around the country.

Another thing I have learned about scanning photos is that it doesn’t get any less tedious with time.

I have scanned in around 1600 photos so far and I guess I am probably 60% completed.

Although it is tedious work I am glad to get these images into the digital age so I can tidy them up a bit.

When I was younger I used to travel around the country a lot on trains.

The first two photos below are from 1985 I think.

We took the overnight sleeper from London to Penzance and it was absolutely freezing.

Goodness knows why we decided to go that time of year but there you go.

We didn’t bother booking sleeping accommodation choosing instead to sleep in the seating section.

It certainly wasn’t very conducive to sleep but at that age who cares as it’s all about the adventure.

The image below shows the train waiting for departure time at London Paddington.

Class 50 diesel loco 50039 Implacable at London Paddington

Class 50 diesel loco 50039 Implacable at London Paddington

We spent the day in Penzance and returned later in the day.

We caught a train from Penzance to Plymouth where we had to change for a train back home.

Travelling down in the dark we never noticed the snow on the outward trip but here stands the train we caught from Penzance at its destination of Plymouth.

Class 50 Diesel loco 50025 Invincible in the snow at Plymouth Station

Class 50 Diesel loco 50025 Invincible in the snow at Plymouth Station

This last image is just a random photo of an electric loco stabled in sidings which we used to visit at weekends.

There was never usually anyone around so you could roam around the locos taking photos without getting any hassle.

Class 81 81006 electric loco at Bescot Sidings

Class 81 81006 electric loco at Bescot Sidings

Thats all the old stuff for now. I hope you enjoyed a brief glimpse of some old planes and trains. If you want to see any more then just leave a comment and I will sort something out to share.

Has anyone else scanned any old photos? If so have you showed any online? I’d love to know how you got on and what difficulties you encountered or lessons you learnt.

thanks for looking

Gary

Fire away below and let me know what you think ......

