Gentle Ripples on Flowing Water Images


Yesterday we took a drive around the countryside looking for something new.

I didn’t have any preconceived idea of where to go but ended up at Calke Abbey on the Leicestershire/Derbyshire border.

This is the first time visiting here and we had a great walk around the park land. I should imagine the house itself is fantastic to see but didn’t have time to do the inside tour – an excuse to visit again methinks!

Walking around the grounds, you soon come across several old pools that are all interlinked by water cascades. At one of these cascades, there is a small footbridge. I was intrigued by how the sun lit up the small ripples created as the water entered the cascade.

The first image I converted to black and white to emphasise the lines created by the overhanging branches as they gently dipped into and disturbed the water’s surface.

black and white river ripples

black and white river ripples

The next scene caught my eye as the water flowed around an abutment that was part of the footbridges structure creating curved ripples. I was surprised to see the clarity of the curved ripples as its something I’ve rarely seen before.

river water circular ripples

Circular ripples as water passes an abutment

I hope you enjoy these photos, feel free to leave me your views on them – good or bad as it’s always interesting to hear people’s reactions and feelings towards your photography

Cheers

Gary

Fire away below and let me know what you think ......

