Fog rolling over the Leicestershire countryside

Breedon On The Hill


I decided to check out a new spot today that is potentially a very good site for sunrise photos.

You may recall last week I did a quick post mentioning The Photographers Ephemeris app. I found this location using that app.

All the pointers show this should be a pretty cool location as it is on top of a hill overlooking Leicestershire.

We set off today to check the area out.

The weather was absolutely beautiful with clear blue skies albeit a little chilly. About 5 miles from the spot we hit some fog and I mean thick fog.

We parked up in the village below the hill and walked up to the church half expecting to see nothing. The walk up to the church also reminded me I still need to do a little more training before I attempt Machu Pichu!

To my surprise we walked up through the fog and emerged on top of the hill into beautiful sunshine with this church sitting proudly looking over the fog filled valley below.

Breedon on the hill church

Breedon on the hill church

I would love to pretend I was somewhere far more exotic than Leicestershire, like halfway up some obscure mountain range looking on top of the clouds 1000’s of feet below, but oh well. Leicestershire will have to do for now.

Looking down into fog covered Leicestershire

Looking down into fog covered Leicestershire

The sun should rise directly in the middle of this scene which, when not fogbound, is low-lying as far as the eye can see right to the horizon.

Fog rolling over the Leicestershire countryside

Fog rolling over the Leicestershire countryside

After a little while familiarising myself with the site I decided to see if the church was open. It was, and what a beautiful little place it turned out to be.

Breedon on the hill church interior HDR

Breedon on the hill church interior

This location definitely looks like a winner and I will be returning to see how accurate and useful the app is for planning sunrise shoots.

I have bookmarked a number of sites within the locality where the app predicts a good view should be possible. Unfortunately most of them are later in the year – and need the dreaded early start.

This site is prime in the next few weeks so I will try it out, see how useful the app is and hopefully obtain some nice images to share with you guys.

The church interior alone is worth much more investigating so I will be back soon regardless of the weather.

Thanks for reading, please leave me a comment as its great to see what you guys think of my posts.

cheers for now

Gary

Fire away below and let me know what you think ......

