outside Earls court exhibition centre destinations travel show

Destinations Travel Show Earls Court


outside Earls court exhibition centre destinations travel show

Earls court exhibition centre

I visited the Destinations Holiday and Travel Show at Earls Court this past weekend. I was fortunate to receive a couple of tickets in a giveaway by WEX Photographics Warehouse Express – thanks guys. Here is a quick overview of the show and a few of the sights. Unfortunately I had to use my smart phone camera as a couple of security guys made it pretty clear they disapproved of me using my proper camera.

I just love to travel, but unfortunately do not get enough opportunities to get away as frequently as I would like. That is something I am definitely going to change this year. The show focuses on travel destinations all around the world and has a little bit of everything from such charming and relaxing delights as the Isle of Wight and Isle of Man right through the spectrum to hiking Macchu Picchu, Kilimanjaro and Everest base camp.

Woman explaining holiday options to a couple at a travel trade show

Woman explaining holiday options to a couple

man and woman sitting at table at travel trade show

and I swear it was thiiis big…….

There were stands giving information about luxury train rides, self guided hiking tours, eco tours, sailing holidays, guided holidays, adventure holidays, RV motor home holidays and so many more to places I never knew existed, let alone knew you could take a holiday there!

Rocky Mountaineer decorated Van on display at a travel trade show

Rocky Mountaineer decorated Van

There were plenty of colourfully clothed participants adding to the atmosphere.

Traditionally dressed woman at a travel trade show

Traditionally dressed woman at a travel trade show

Traditionally dressed hosts on the Abu Dhabi stand

Traditionally dressed hosts on the Abu Dhabi stand

As with a lot of these shows there was a varied selection of  food for you to try. It didn’t take me long to find my favourite stall – cakes! I know, not very extravagant or healthy but you just cant beat a good old fashioned cake.

Selection of cakes being sold from a traders market style stall

There was a lot to see and take in. Mentally I spent somewhere in the region of £250000 and will be on the road constantly for the next three years! I have enough brochures and holiday ideas to keep me going for some time.

All this walking, information and mental spending makes you tired.

Worn out visitors take a break at a travel trade show

Worn out visitors take a break at a travel trade show

Mrs GDMK seems to have found something to interest her so I can guess where we might be going in the near future!

Woman sitting reading a New Zealand travel brochure at a travel trade show

Mrs GDMK sitting reading a New Zealand travel brochure

In the early afternoon Chris Packham gave a talk about various wildlife and conservation issues. Now, rightly or wrongly, I have never really been impressed by him and was going to give his talk a miss. But, after this talk and his passion for, and frustrations with, certain conservation issues, he showed me another side. At the end of the talk he got a well deserved round of applause. His talk opened my eyes to the politics and frustrations of wildlife conservation that we simply don’t hear about in this materialistically (is that even a word?) obsessed world. It certainly changed my opinion of him and I will be checking out more information about the topics he discussed.

Fire away below and let me know what you think ......

