Remote House in Scottish Highlands

Autumn in the Scottish Highlands


I have just returned from a fantastic trip to Fort William.  The colour of the countryside around Glen Nevis was stunning. Over the next few posts I will describe the trip and pass on a few tips to anyone wanting to visit and photograph this beautiful area.

Traffic on Victoria Embankment with Big Ben in the background

Traffic on Victoria Embankment with Big Ben in the background

I chose to take the overnight sleeper train from London Euston to Fort William. Check-in for the sleeper train is 8.30pm for a 9.15pm departure so I took the opportunity to arrive early and walk around London in the late afternoon and early evening.

Now the clocks have altered, the light starts to fade around 4.30pm so I hoped to get some low light photos with some ambient light in the sky.

Unfortunately the weather wasnt very kind and a steady rain fell all evening. At least the rain created some opportunities to try out a few creative ideas.

I havent been to London in the evening for many years, so decided to head towards the London Eye.

Just after 6pm the rain became torrential so a hasty retreat was in order. Cover was found near to Westminster underground station. This location is very busy so I took 20 minutes or so to try a few abstract ideas.

The temperature started to drop so I decided it was time to start thinking about where I was going to eat and get back to London Euston.

Remote House in Scottish Highlands

Remote House in Scottish Highlands

As a contrast to the hustle and bustle of the previous evening this cottage, photographed from the train window, finds itself at the other end of the hustle and bustle spectrum.

The next post will go into more detail on the London part of the trip.

2 thoughts on “Autumn in the Scottish Highlands

  1. Your photo makes me home sick…I love Scotland and I miss it but living in Andalusia it is like Scotland but with sun…Great stuff, more photos of my homeland please..Zynkin

Fire away below and let me know what you think ......

